Skip to content ↓

St. Bede's Catholic College

ST Bede's

Catholic College

Bell Burnell House

Together Everyone Achieves More

Susan Jocelyn Bell Burnell was born on 15 July 1943. She is an astrophysicist. As a postgraduate student, she discovered the first radio pulsars with her thesis supervisor Antony Hewish, for which Hewish shared the Nobel Prize in Physics. She was president of the Institute of Physics from October 2008 until October 2010 and was interim president following the death of her successor, Marshall Stoneham, in early 2011. She was succeeded in October 2011 by Sir Peter Knight.

House Team

Head of House: Mr D Johnson

Head Boy: John Gompels

Senior Prefects: Joss Carr and Emily Lunson

House Captains: Matthew Wood and Catherine Rolls

Assistant House Captains: Lucki Berondo and Angela Varghese


Emily Pritchard
Meagan Scarpati
Kalina Emilian
Georgia Knowles
Oliwia Sliwinska




Mia Bradshaw
Emily Phillips
Caoimhe Fullerton
Niamh Fullerton
Emily Lunson






Molly Dolan
John Gompels
Joss Carr
Emily Hartley
Annie Rogers
Gerlando Parrinello





Matthew Wood
Rachel O'Hagan
Freya Sawyer
Anna-Claire Lux 
Ella Staddon
Nathaniel Toal




Tutor Groups

Year 8

8BCRB - Miss C Bentley 

8BSCM - Miss S Murray


Year 10
10BJHA - Miss J Hancock

10BUCU - Miss U Cumiskey


Year 9
9BJC - Mrs J Cannon

9BSGI - Mr S Gibbs

9BCL - Mrs C Liew

Year 11

11BNS - Mr N Sutton

11BMHA - Mrs M Hathaway



© 2019 St. Bede's Catholic College. St Bede's Catholic College, a charitable company limited by guarantee, registered in England and Wales, company number 07798550. Registered office: St Bede's Catholic College, Long Cross, Bristol, BS11 0SU.